//
you're reading...
Fiction

The Leopard by Jo Nesbø

The only reason I’m intrigued with Jo Nesbø is because his nick is the same as mine and he is probably called Joanna. 😉 I’m kidding, of course not but there isn’t a clue as to “Jo” was short for anything more classy, like Joquain or Jostein (like Jostein Gaarder)? Anyway, rave reviews about his books so I thought I should give it a go and start with his latest book, The Leopard.

The story begins with Hole being recalled by Kaja Solsen, a beautiful female officer from Kripos (the Norwegian special police division) from Hong Kong, where he has fled after his last traumatic case, The Snowman. He live up to his last name as he lives his life out in a ‘hole’ in Hong Kong, evading the triads over gambling debts, self-medicating with opium (so predictable, opium = Hong Kong, China, obvious?) to stop drinking. Lured back by the lovely Kaja with the prospect of seeing his father, Olav Hole, he reluctantly agrees to investigate the case of two women who have been found murdered in the most ingenious way and image so revolting that I couldn’t get the torture scenes out of my head. The only connection between the victims is that they spent the same night in an isolated mountain hostel called Havass Cabin. When another victim, a famous political figure is found murdered with a self-made rope, it becomes clear that the killer is determined to pick off the rest of the guests that stayed in the cabin that night. Harry and Kaja seems to be a step behind of the killer. The media is circling like hungry sharks and Hole finds himself caught in the middle of a police turf-war over power and jurisdiction of Kripos and his crime squad (with so many problems in the police squads, no wonder they can’t catch their killer!). Through it all Harry Hole wasn’t bothered by the power struggle but pursue the murderer at all costs, even if it takes him to the end of the world, Goma, The Republic of Congo, twice, and through the snow filled and potentially avalanche of Norwegian landscape.

Harry Hole is 192m and did not claim to be perfect. In fact he has an alcoholic problem and he gladly lay his fists on his superior if he has to. I didn’t like finding Harry in that situation in Hong Kong but as the book progresses, I warm up to him.

The book has all the key ingredients of a good thriller and layered plots with many red herrings, shifting of goalposts which brought me one of the most unpredictable crime novels I have ever read. What I really like about Nesbø’s writing is that it has a heart. At the heart of the crime, lays destroyed relationships between human beings. Dysfunctional human being who was taunted, humiliated and abused when they were young. Human being who only wants to be loved. Human being who stayed in a dysfunctional relationship. Human being who is so affected by a significant bad memory in their lives that they are willing to kill to redeem themselves. I thank God that not all dysfunctional human beings have to resort to that but that was what Nesbø source of inspiration for the characters in this novel lies.

Since The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo was published in 2008, there’s been something of a Nordic noir bonanza in the UK, with every new Scandinavian crime novel, whether good, bad or indifferent, being engulfed in a sticker that says “the next Stieg Larsson”. I tend to roll my eyes and felt the whole thing too gimmicky to my liking. Although in terms of both critical and commercial success, the Guardian said Jo Nesbø is the writer to whom it is the most applicable. I love the The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo series to bits and feel there will be never be a Scandinavian crime writer that will come close to this greatness because Stieg Larsson had a mission (to expose human trafficking and abuse to women) and wrote his crime series with a mission with well researched facts. At 610 pages for the hardback, and 740 pages for a paperback, The Leopard is a tad too long in my view and bears the shadow of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo a little bit more. It drags on at the beginning and it is not until page 514 (80% of the book) before the motive of the murders are made clear.

Because this is my first book by Jo Nesbo, I don’t know for sure how the rest of his novels fare but it’s best to read his novel in sequential order as there are many references to “The Snowman” and the traumatic effect it had on Harry Hole (like his broken jaw), which are spoilers.

I can’t help but to compare with The Girl series (since the sticker “The next Stieg Larsson” actually wants you to do so!) but it is probably unfair as Jo Nesbø is his own man and he is still alive (I didn’t believe that he is half a century years old because he looks 20 years younger than his age!), he will continue to bring great crime novels to the fore. For this reason I will seek out his other novels. It is always refreshing to know someone who used to be an economist and a stockbroker, and a musician, can also write great crime novels. Jo Nesbø is obviously a man of many talents. Highly recommended if you are fan of The Girl series and hoping for a similar quality Scandinavian novels to fix your craving for more.

Rating: 

I’m reading this for Zee’s Scandinavian Challenge and Mystery & Suspense Challenge.

Paperback. Length: 740 pages. Publisher: Vintage 2011. Source: Reading Library. Setting: Contemporary Norway, Oslo, Goma Congo, Hong Kong and Sydney. Finished reading at: 26thAugust 2011. Translated from Norwegian by Don Bartlett.

Other views:

From a hopeless Jo Nesbø aficionados Rhapsody in Books (it was Jill who persuaded me to pick this book up!), she said : Love, love, love Jo Nesbo. There are plenty of fun twists, turns, and red herrings that keep you glued to your seat.

About the writer:

Jo Nesbø (born 29 March 1960) is an Edgar Award nominated Norwegian author and musician. As of September 2008 more than one and a half million copies of his novels have been sold in Norway, and his work has been translated into over forty languages. Nesbø was born and currently lives in Oslo but grew up in Molde. He graduated from the Norwegian School of Economics with a degree in Economics and Business Administration (did I tell you I was accepted as an exchange student to Swedish School of Economics (SSE) but had to turn it down in 2007?). Nesbø is primarily famous for his crime novels about Detective Harry Hole, but he is also the main vocalist and songwriter for the Norwegian rock band Di Derre. In 2007 Nesbø also released his first children’s book, Doktor Proktors prompepulver.

Jo Nesbø worked as a freelance journalist and a stockbroker before he began his writing career.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

20 thoughts on “The Leopard by Jo Nesbø

  1. I’ve read his books out of order and I am having trouble getting into one of them right now. I love Nesbo though. I don’t think he has the same style asLarsson but Scandinavian crime fiction does seem to have the same feel.

    Posted by Ti | August 26, 2011, 9:32 pm
    • Ti,
      Honestly I don’t want to go all the way back. I’ll try Snowman next and see how it goes. Nesbo doesn’t and definitely do not has the same style as Larsson and it’s unfair to compare them! 🙂

      Posted by JoV | August 26, 2011, 9:50 pm
  2. I really think The Leopard is so much connected to The Snowman that you have to read The Snowman first! But I love him because he has so much more depth than so many thriller writers!

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | August 26, 2011, 9:35 pm
    • Jill,
      I agree with you, I’ll read The Snowman next. Nesbo has got a lot more depth. Even as I flicked back the book I’m still amazed at how he strung those little events around and make it all connected and not a string was let loose without proper closure. One word, he is great!

      Posted by JoV | August 26, 2011, 9:51 pm
  3. Ah, I am reading a Scandinavian book myself now! You are right about these kind of books being all the rage. I haven’t read the other 2 books from the Girl series, but perhaps after this glowing recommendation from you, I should! And oh! Did I say a great review, as always? 🙂

    Posted by Soul Muser | August 27, 2011, 7:13 am
  4. I keep seeing his books in the shop, and seeing the stickers your own about but never really sure whether I should give them a go. After your review I think I would definitely consider reading one of his books now. But still got the last Larsson book to go first!

    Posted by jessicabookworm | August 27, 2011, 9:59 am
  5. Jo, I have a few Nesbo books on my Kindle. Love these kinds of books in fall for some reason. I hope to start Frenchman’s Creek tomorrow if I am able to focus. Looking forward to it. Thanks for your caring comments; I appreciate it.

    Posted by Diane@BibliophileBytheSea | August 27, 2011, 4:31 pm
    • Diane,
      I hope you have a good read for Nesbo. The announcement for Frenchman’s Creek will be out tomorrow and I look forward to reading it with you. Be safe Diane, give us an hour to hour update… take care..

      Posted by JoV | August 28, 2011, 11:18 am
  6. Jo, you’re a reading machine! 🙂 I think I should give Scandinavian crime fiction a try, I’m a bit worried I won’t like it since I usually love the cozies.

    Posted by Bina | August 27, 2011, 6:07 pm
  7. I read snowman by him ,I will read another but want read earlier books before getting to this one ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | August 28, 2011, 11:09 am
  8. Nice review, Jo! I have seen Nesbø’s books at the bookshop here, but haven’t tried reading them till now. I have been wondering about this Scandinavian crime thrillers’ popularity myself – there seem to be a lot of them stocked in the bookshop and the library! I got a couple by Hakan Nesser myself, but haven’t got around to reading it. I liked the picture of Jo Nesbø that you have posted – he looks like a rock star! I love his resume too – economist, stock broker, musician, novelist – Wow! Must be an inspiration for many schoolboys and schoolgirls proving that one can do what one wants 🙂

    Posted by Vishy | September 1, 2011, 5:37 am
    • Vishy,
      He looks like a rock star isn’t it? It’s a coincidence that you mentioned about Hakan Nesser because I just finished his book called “Woman with Birthmark”. I am wary of being booed by the Jo Nesbo’s fan but I think I like Hakan Nesser’s writing and understated plot more than Nesbo! I simply love the “Woman with Birthmark”! 🙂

      Posted by JoV | September 2, 2011, 7:30 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Woman With Birthmark by Håkan Nesser « Bibliojunkie - September 2, 2011

  2. Pingback: It’s a Wrap! August 2011 « Bibliojunkie - September 2, 2011

Leave a comment

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 273 other subscribers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)