//
you're reading...
Book Business

The Shortlist

I am still following the progress of the Women’s Prize for fiction. I have had some tasters to a few longlisted novels: Almost English, The Shadow of the Crescent Moon, Eleven Days; I only finished Almost English by Charlotte Mendelsson and I like it but there is no love, unfortunately.

The shortlist has been announced last Monday evening and they are:

Americanah_med  burial-rites_med  lowland_med

undertaking_med  A-Girl-is-a-Half-Formed-Thing_med  goldfinch_med

  • Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Hannah Kent – Burial Rites
  • Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland
  • Audrey Magee – The Undertaking
  • Eimear McBride – A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing
  • Donna Tartt – The Goldfinch

I read Americanah and love it. I finished Burial Rites today and I love it too, it is so engaging and haunting! I tried to start A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing tonight and I thought the language used was too creative and bizarre for me to truly appreciate what it is trying to say, so I am going to give it up and I will fell off my chair if it becomes the winner…. 😉

So there are three books on the shortlist left which I haven’t read, two are written by heavyweight writers. Jhumpa Lahiri is one of my favourite author but I heard Lowland doesn’t quite live up to the expectation, still I think I would read anything she has written. Donna Tartt, ahhh….. how can I forget the tragic The Secret History? For someone who only publish once every decade, I am keen to read Donna Tartt’s third novel.

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony to be held in The Clore Ballroom at the Royal Festival Hall on 4 June 2014.

What do you think about the shortlist? Have you read any of them? Would you like to?

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “The Shortlist

  1. The only one I have read is Burial Rites and I loved it. I’m one of the few people in the world who isn’t a Donna Tartt fan but I woud like to read Americanah

    Posted by bernadetteinoz | April 10, 2014, 1:59 am
  2. I’m SO pleased that Americanah made it to the shortlist. It was one of my favorites from last year, and it well deserves the honor. The Goldfinch was really good too, but if I had to choose, I’d pick Americanah to win.

    Posted by Jenny @ Reading the End | April 10, 2014, 2:07 am
  3. I haven’t read any of them but I have The Lowland and Americanah on my TBR list.

    Posted by Nish | April 10, 2014, 9:28 am

Leave a comment

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 273 other subscribers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)