//
you're reading...
Author / Writer Spotlight

Midnight’s Children Read-along

Many people told me this book is difficult to read.

Three of Rushdie books sit now in my pile waiting for the right moment to be picked up, except the moment hasn’t come for 2 years. Perhaps now is the time.

I am curious about this novel because it has been honoured as Best of the Booker and it will be adapted to the big screen soon. As much as I want to read it but I am afraid of the tedium or frustration that might set in if I were to read this alone.

So I need a push, I need some company….

The idea was first conceived between Wilfrid and I. Wilfrid is a computer engineer, a photographer, a guitarist who sings and plays live gigs and also an an avid reader. I also have Mel U of Reading Life, Adrian of Reading Monk, Bina of  “If you can read this” and Vishy of Vishy’s Blog with me, which are all very voracious readers and writes beautiful reviews; in one way or another need some encouragement to read Midnight’s Children too. In a circle of friends with such passions and dedication, you will be in good company for this read-along!

So here’s the plan:

We’ll begin on the 12th November, Friday (Greenwich time) and ends on the 12th December, Sunday.

At the beginning of each weekend, I will post a weekly post with book-club discussion questions and you can post your thoughts and discussion about what you read throughout the week. It is absolutely fine if you don’t have a blog, just paste your reviews and your thoughts on the comments box or if you have a blog, send me a link to your blog post.

On the following weekend, I’ll do a quick wrap-up post on everyone’s and my progress.

At the end of the challenge, I’ll post a short quiz about the novel and you can show off your great memory skill and see how many of the questions you have got it right (without resorting to cheating or referring to the novel, that is!).

An introduction about the book:

Midnight’s Children won both the 1981 Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for the same year. It was awarded the “Booker of Bookers” Prize and the best all-time prize winners in 1993 and 2008 to celebrate the Booker Prize 25th and 40th anniversary. Midnight’s Children is also the only Indian novel on Time’s list of the 100 best English-language novels since its founding in 1923.

Midnight’s Children is a 1981 book by Salman Rushdie about India’s transition from British colonialism to independence. It is considered an example of postcolonial literature and magical realism. The story is expressed through various characters and is contexted by actual historical events as with historical fiction.

Noted director Deepa Mehta is working on the forthcoming film Midnight’s Children and is collaborating on the screenplay with Rushdie. The casting is still in progress. Mehta has stated that production will begin in September, 2010. (Source: Wikipedia)

The production begins this month. So what are you waiting for? Beg, steal or borrow a copy of Midnight Children and come read along with me this November!! 😉

Here’s the participants list again (in order of sign-up):

Wilfrid Wong

Adrian of Reading Monk

Mel U of Reading Life

Bina of  “If you can read this”

Vishy of Vishy’s Blog

Jessica of Park Benches and Bookends

Stu of Winston’s Dad Blog

Rob McMonigal of Book Stew

Birdy of Life Word Smith

Pete Karnas of What You Read

Sign up now and I’ll add you in!

I’ll be sending reminders around early November to make sure you are geared up for this!

This post is published simultaneously in www.readingmonk.com.

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

40 thoughts on “Midnight’s Children Read-along

  1. oh yes I am up for this – we will finish it in time for christmas. My parents have this book and I keep meaning to borrow it but I am scared it will be too hard. Ill do a post on my blog tomorrow.

    Posted by Jessica | September 6, 2010, 10:13 pm
  2. Looking forward to this a lot-I tweeted your post to give it more exposure-

    Posted by Mel u | September 7, 2010, 11:54 pm
  3. Yay, I’m excited for the read-a-long! Then I’ll finally have read something by Rushdie 🙂

    Posted by Bina | September 8, 2010, 12:29 pm
  4. Wow … looks like we have a party! Great! This is going to be fun.

    Seriously, I will need a lot of encouragement in reading this … ha ha ha. Again, thanks for organizing this. And thanks for including me in this fun journey. I will try to see if any of my readers wish to join us 🙂

    Posted by Wilfrid | September 9, 2010, 5:54 pm
  5. I LL join in jov read it many years ago but just found my copy from 80’s so will join in

    Posted by winstonsdad | September 11, 2010, 4:49 pm
  6. Jo I’m very tempted to join this one, but I’m not sure if the timing is good for me. Also the 4 weeks time frame feels a bit short. My reading speed is only about 100 pages per week. Maybe I can start earlier to get a head start… We’ll see how it goes but I’m not committing yet 🙂

    Posted by mee | September 12, 2010, 11:30 pm
    • @Mee,
      By all means please start before the Read-along officially begins! There are no rule to say you can’t. We would love to have you here. The more the merrier! Also a push to get everyone to read the book! 🙂

      Posted by JoV | September 13, 2010, 9:35 am
  7. Hey, I’m in for this. I’ve actually read the book before (like 12 or 13 years ago), and liked it quite a bit. So maybe I can help anyone who’s flagging.

    Gonna have a look around while I’m here, I came over via The Reading Life!

    Posted by Rob McMonigal | October 2, 2010, 4:47 pm
  8. Sign me up do! 😀

    Posted by Birdy | October 6, 2010, 8:42 am
  9. I am late in commenting Jo, but I am really looking forward to the read-along! Salman Rushdie’s book is lying on my shelf too for years 🙂 If I have to confess, I don’t like him too much as a person, but I think I can separate books from their writers – there are writers whom I don’t like too much, but I love their books. So, looking forward to reading this acclaimed work of Rushdie and participating in the read-along 🙂

    Posted by Vishy | October 7, 2010, 5:09 am
  10. Tried to read this in the summer but got caught up in other books. Think I’ll read along with all the participants here – I’ll be in good company!
    Pete

    Posted by petekarnas | October 28, 2010, 12:21 pm
  11. This is a book on my tbr. I’ve been meaning to read this but I’ve also often been told it’s hard to penetrate. I wish I had seen this a long time so I could participate. But all the same, I will be cheering you guys as you read and I hope to join something of this nature some other time again.

    Posted by Geosi | November 26, 2010, 5:59 pm
  12. JoV, I think you have energized me to pick up this book and to join you guys. I’m joing you guys and this means I have almost 2weeks to complete. I will give it a try. So I’m joining you. Thanks for your encouragement.

    Posted by Geosi | November 27, 2010, 2:29 pm
  13. JoV, where do I go to sign up? Can’t find it. Help here?

    Posted by Geosi | November 27, 2010, 2:39 pm
  14. A good way of shoring up your determination to read. I had similar problems with Byatt’s Possession but I persevered and completed it. When I did it was worthwhile.

    Posted by Nana Fredua-Agyeman | November 29, 2010, 8:38 am
  15. hey guys i just bought the book can i join u guys from today???

    Posted by hritu | December 16, 2010, 10:13 am
  16. Can i start from today because i just bought the book today……please please please

    Posted by hritu | December 16, 2010, 10:15 am
  17. can i join u guys from today i just bought the book…..

    Posted by hritu | December 16, 2010, 10:16 am
  18. Hi JoV, I’m taking up the challenge. 🙂 But being a slow reader, I’m not sure if I can finish it within a month esp when I started late!

    Posted by Heyzanie | November 14, 2010, 7:47 am
  19. You are not late Heyzanie, we have just started last Friday. Look forward to your thoughts on the book! Welcome! 😀

    Posted by JoV | November 15, 2010, 3:25 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Winston’s coffee and muffin « Winstonsdad's Blog - September 12, 2010

  2. Pingback: Nov 12 – Dec 13: Midnight’s Children Read Along! - November 10, 2010

  3. Pingback: Read-along: Midnight’s Children- Book 1 « If you can read this - November 12, 2010

  4. Pingback: A Third World War Against Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children! « Geosi Reads - November 27, 2010

  5. Pingback: Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie « Geosi Reads - January 13, 2011

Leave a comment

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 273 other subscribers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)