//
you're reading...
Read Along

2666 Read-A-Long hosted by LeeSwammes

I can’t believe it is March already. Where has the time gone?

About late last year I bought the hardback of 2666 and wanted to host a read-along myself with the book.

Now that Leeswammes’ is hosting the read-along, I thought perhaps I would jump on the bandwagon and see how it goes. I am usually good in keeping promises, but due to work commitment if I can’t cope I would have to opt out. At least if I don’t like it, Lee has given me her permission to send in a polemic comment in her blog and be done with it! That’s the kind of objectivity I like. 🙂

But I have a feeling I would like this book……

Please see Lee’s post on the Read-Along if you want to sign up to it, the more the merrier.

The Read-along starts today and the Schedule is:

Behind the page numbers is the date that we’ll discuss that particular part.

Section I The Part About the Critics (2 weeks)

1. Pages 3-79 (77 pages) March 5th

2. Pages 80-159 (79 pages) March 12th

Section II The Part About Amalfitano (1 week)

3. Pages 163-228 (65 pages) March 19th

Section III The Part About Fate (2 weeks)

4.  Pages 231-291 (60 pages) March 26th

5. Pages 292-349 (57 pages) April 2nd

Section IV The Part About the Crimes (4 weeks)

6. Pages 353-424 (71 pages) April 9th

7. Pages 425-496 (71 pages) April 16th

8. Pages 497-568 (71 pages) April 23rd

9. Pages 567-633 (66 pages) April 30st

Section V The Part About Archimboldi (3 weeks)

10. Pages 637-723 (86 pages) May 7th

11. Pages 724-810 (86 pages) May 14th

12. Pages 811-895 (84 pages) May 21st

At the end of each week, Lee will post a summary of what we’ve read, and a few questions. You can discuss the book on her blog in the comments, and/or make your own post about what you’ve been reading (and leave a link on her post for that week).

Lee reminds you not to feel obliged to post or comment every week! Join in at any time and read the relevant discussion posts when you get to that part of the book.

Won’t you come and read-along? 😉

About JoV

A bookaholic that went out of control.... I eat, sleep and breathe books. Well, lately I do other stuff.

Discussion

19 thoughts on “2666 Read-A-Long hosted by LeeSwammes

  1. I tried to read this and couldn’t get through it, but the other readalong-ers loved it. So I will look forward to following your posts and seeing what you make of it!

    Posted by rhapsodyinbooks | March 1, 2011, 1:00 pm
  2. Hey, you’re definitely joining in! That’s great news.

    Now, please call me Judith (see here about the name leeswammes and why it wasn’t a good choice: http://leeswammes.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/friday-blog-hop-20/).

    I hope I myself will survive past the first week’s discussion because I find it hard going so far. Bolano doesn’t mind VERY long sentences. Eeek!

    Posted by Leeswammes | March 1, 2011, 2:19 pm
  3. Hey, you’re definitely joining in! That’s great news.

    Now, please call me Judith (see here about the name leeswammes and why it wasn’t a good choice: http://leeswammes.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/friday-blog-hop-20/).

    I hope I myself will survive past the first week’s discussion because I find it hard going so far. Bolano doesn’t mind VERY long sentences. Eeek!

    Posted by Leeswammes | March 1, 2011, 2:19 pm
  4. JoV, you are in store for a great read–but I don’t know if you’ll like it. I loved 2666 along with most of the readalongers I read it with, but Jill from Rhapsody in Boooks hated it and she’s not alone on that count. See where I’m going? Enjoy…

    Posted by Richard | March 1, 2011, 4:44 pm
  5. I must say that I am enjoying the story so far, but it’s hard going. I changed to a copy in my native language (rather than English) and that helps a bit.

    Posted by Leeswammes | March 1, 2011, 5:07 pm
  6. hope you enjoy it I did found it confusing at times ,have just read one of his novellas ,all the best stu

    Posted by winstonsdad | March 2, 2011, 1:23 am
    • Stu, long sentences definitely confuse many, things (in the story) seems to be picking up slowly. Amazon UK recommends “Romantic Dogs” a short stories collection, is this the one you read?

      Posted by JoV | March 7, 2011, 12:08 pm
  7. I read 2666 last year-it is for sure worth at least a second read but I cannot work it in right now but I will look forward to reading the posts

    Posted by Mel u | March 2, 2011, 1:33 am
  8. I joined in the 2666 read-along Richard mentioned and loved it. It made me a solid Bolano fan. I can’t wait to see all your responses to this massive novel.

    Posted by Gavin | March 6, 2011, 9:40 pm
  9. Yay, so glad to see you decided to jump onto the 2666 bandwagon too, Jo 🙂 I felt that the first few pages were hard going, but really, after that the name-dropping stops and length of the sentences shorten. Very compelling read!

    Posted by Chinoiseries | March 8, 2011, 9:43 pm
  10. Almost every bookblogger I know join this read a long. It becomes like a great party. Have fun and hope you’ll enjoy it. I just stand here and watch how the party’s going on

    Posted by Novroz | March 12, 2011, 2:10 pm
    • Novroz, I haven’t check out the others but I am assuming everyone is enjoying it. Quite interesting read, but not sure where it is going with this book! :S Hop in anytime?

      Posted by JoV | March 13, 2011, 3:33 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 2666… Phew finally! « Bibliojunkie - December 31, 2011

Leave a comment

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 273 other subscribers

Ratings Defined

0 = Abandon the book after first chapter

1 = Waste of paper, we will see what the environmentalist say about this!

2 = Skip it, read the book if you have got nothing better to do

2.5 = An average book, easily forgettable.

3 = A good read.

3.5 = A good entertaining read, a page-turner

4 = So glad that I read the book, a book with substance and invaluable for future reference

4.5 = So glad that I read the book, would pester everyone to read it, invaluable, I would want to own it and wouldn't mind a second read (something that I seldom do)

5 = The book is so good that I feel like I am on scale 4 and 4.5, and more, it blew me away and lingers on my head for weeks!

Books Read

JoV's bookshelf: read
Hold Tight
The Fault in Our Stars
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Thief
Mockingjay
Catching Fire
A Tale for the Time Being
Into the Darkest Corner
The Liars' Gospel
Goat Mountain
Strange Weather In Tokyo
Strange Shores
And the Mountains Echoed
Ten White Geese
One Step Too Far
The Innocents
The General: The ordinary man who became one of the bravest prisoners in Guantanamo
White Dog Fell from the Sky
A Virtual Love
The Fall of the Stone City


JoV's favorite books »
Share book reviews and ratings with JoV, and even join a book club on Goodreads.
old-books

Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. - Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)